Hannah Cowley (née Parkhouse)

(14 March 1743 - 11 March 1809)
Hannah Cowley (1743-1809)

© The Trustees of the British Museum

Hannah Cowley (1743-1809)

Works in ECPA

alphabetical listing / listing in source editions

Source editions

  • The Maid of Arragon; a Tale. By Mrs. Cowley. Part I. London: printed by T. Spilsbury, for L. Davis, T. Longman, J. Dodsley, T. Cadell, W. Owen, S. Crowder, T. Davies, T. Becket, G. Kearsley, C. Dilly, T. Evans, Richardson and Urquhart, and R. Faulder. M,DCC,LXXX., 1780. [6],46,[4]p.; 4⁰. (ESTC T38853; OTA K039355.000)
  • The Scottish village: or, Pitcairne Green. A poem. By Mrs. Cowley. London: printed for G. G. J. and J. Robinson, in Paternoster-Row. MDCCLXXXVII., 1787. viii,23,[1]p.; 4⁰. (ESTC T128955; OTA K102562.000)
  • The Poetry of Anna Matilda. London: printed by John Bell, British Library, Strand, Bookseller to His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales. M DCC LXXXVIII., 1788. [8],139,[1]p.; 8⁰. (ESTC T90094; OTA K073164.000)


ODNB 6500

Reference works


  • Labbe, Jacqueline M. The anthologised romance of Della Crusca and Anna Matilda. Romanticism on the Net 18 (2000). Web. 12 Jan. 2018. https://www.erudit.org/fr/revues/ron/2000-n18-ron430/005916ar/
  • Robinson, Daniel. Della Crusca, Anna Matilda, and Ludic Sensibility. Wordsworth Circle 42(2) (2011): 170-174. Print.